Can you lose on a Serve in Ping Pong?

The question “Can you lose on a serve in ping pong?” is quite a popular question among many lovers of the game, and this would be adequately addressed in the preceding sections below.

Ping pong stands as a highly exciting game. Thus, it has enjoyed a considerable measure of acceptability around the world. On the other hand, you must choose the right table and equipment (racket and ball) to enjoy it. Also, you need to understand the rules of the game. This sport’s idea is that you have to use a racket to throw the ball over the net that stretches out in the center of the table. In this case, two or more people can play. 

For this, you need to set up a table in a fairly spacious room. Besides, it must have a specified size and maintain an accurate level during installation. Of course, you also need a racket and a ball, as earlier highlighted. These accessories must be chosen with much care because the game’s quality is highly dependent on them. Ping pong usually starts from the serve and must not touch the net under any circumstances. When doing so, it must hit the other side of the table. Of course, the opponent must strike the ball; else, his error will also be counted.

Can you lose on a Serve in Ping Pong?

At this point, what is further worth mentioning is how to serve in ping pong correctly. First of all, the people participating in the competition must be absolutely at the table’s bottom line. The ball must be served to make it fly over the net and hit the other side of the table. If the ball makes a bounce off your half, it would be considered as a fault. If the ball comes in contact with the net, it will also be recorded as a wrong serve. In this case, no points are counted, and it would need to be redone. In other words, you can lose on serve in ping pong.

Can you lose on a Serve in Ping Pong?

What happens if the Ball Hits your Finger in Ping Pong?

Anyone who has ever played ping pong must have hit the ball with their fingers at one point or the other. During a rally or serve, the ball may hit your finger. So, what is the verdict if this happens? The rule is that it can hit the ball with your fingers, but only with the hand holding the paddle. Also, if the ball touches your hand but not above your wrist, it does not matter. According to ITTF and ping pong serving rules, any ball that hits you below the wrist will not be counted as a foul. But if there are two shots, such as when the ball hits your hand and then hits the racket, or hits the racket first and then the server, it will then be considered as a loss in this case.

Fortunately, because the ball changes its path and rotation, the referee can see it at a glance, not to mention that the sound tends to be different here. At this time, it will be considered a loss. On the other hand, when the ball hits your finger during a serve or rally and enters the opponent’s court, it is termed as valid according to table tennis rules. Also, there are three possible reasons why the ball hits the finger. This includes:

When you Can’t See the Ball Properly

The number one reason why the ball usually hits the finger is the player’s inability to see the ball correctly. For many ping pong beginners, this is very predominant. Here, the ball’s trajectory tends to be so fast that it hits the finger instead of the racket. The solution to this issue is to lower your body’s posture and bring your face more closely to the ball. If you cannot see the ball, move your face closer to it.

Ping pong rules 21 points

When your Racket Swing is Unstable

If the swing of the racket is unstable, the ball may hit your finger. The trick to stabilizing the swing of the racket is to shake the racket tightly. When the racket moves away from the body, the swing of the racket becomes unstable. Therefore, it is best to use extra strength to get it closer to your body without stretching your arms. If you do this, your control of the ball will also be stable. All you need to do to improve here is to improve your footwork. As your footwork gets stronger, you can catch up with the ball faster and find it easier to hit the ball in the hitting area. In short, “compact swing awareness” and “improving your footwork” are the solutions.

Illegal ping pong serves

When you are not Able to Respond to Sudden Changes

The third reason why the ball may hit your finger is when you cannot cope with sudden changes. This affects not only beginners but also intermediate level players. Here, the opponent’s rotation and recovery speed are often so strong that you can’t keep up with the changing pace, and the ball continues to hit your finger. Heterogeneous rubber that is rarely used by people also tends to have very different rotational qualities, so it is easy to mistake the ball’s direction.

Ping pong switch sides

Read More: Best Ping Pong Paddle Under 100

Frequently Asked Questions

Can you lose on a bad serve in ping pong?

The straightforward response to this question is a yes, as earlier highlighted according to ping pong rules.

Is there a let in ping pong?

For points that do not count in ping pong, the let is used to describe them. When you make a serve, and the ball bounces on the opponent’s side of the table after hitting the net, it is called a ‘let’ and does not count.

Does ping pong serve to have to go off the end of the table?

When you serve the ball, whether it double bounces on the table, crosses the line, or off the end of the table, the ball is allowed to move anywhere. As long as it comes in contact with both sides of the table, there is no restriction on position.

Can you hit a ping pong ball before it bounces?

No. Before the ball bounces on the table, you must not hit it. The only situation where points can still be earned by hitting the ball before it bounces is if it has crossed the table’s end line.

Are you allowed to touch the table in table tennis?

While the ball is in play in table tennis, you cannot move the table or touch it with any part of your body or object other than the paddle. If this happens, it will be a point for the opposing team.

Can you lean over the table in ping pong?

From the ITTF Laws of Table Tennis, leaning over the table is okay. However, you cannot touch the table with your free hand (nonpaddle hand). Also, you cannot move the table during play.

Can you throw your paddle in ping pong?

No. You can’t throw your paddle in ping pong because this violates the rules of the game. Also, throwing a ping pong paddle on the ball is not feasible. Thus, when the racket hits the ball, you must be holding it so that you can get a good return.

What happens when a player serves or scores illegally, but there is no qualified umpire to call it?

Usually, this tends to be a predominant problem in ping pong. When this occurs, you need an unbiased person to decide whether they serve or score legally.

Can you hit a ping pong ball with your hand?

No. The player will lose when the ball hits him or anything he wears or carries other than the racket. The only way to score on tennis is to use a racket, and the moment you hit the ping pong ball with your hand, the game is deemed over, and points are awarded to your opponent.

Who serves on the game point in ping pong?

The server is the one who starts the game on the game point in ping pong. 

How many times can you hit the net on serve in ping pong?

There’s no limit on the number of times you can replay the service when it has hit the net.


In conclusion, ping pong is an ideal sport that has many advantages. It develops a reaction, gives an excellent charge to the musculoskeletal system, and trains the cardiovascular and respiratory systems during intense workouts and competitions. Furthermore, the question “Can you lose on serve in ping pong?” tends to be very popular among many ping pong enthusiasts. Thus, this has been adequately addressed above.